The Rescue for Friday Fictioneers


Tucked into the corner he is staring out at me as I pick my way through the chaos. Waiting for me. Eyes accusing. Perfectly still. The silence is filled with nothing. Not a sound intrudes and with each careful step, I negotiate my way closer. He must have suffered with the damp. I can feel it infesting my lungs with each breath I take. My eyes are flitting around furiously looking for dangers. I stretch my arm, open my fingers and grab his paw. Lucy’s arms around my neck, clutching in joy as we rescue Mr. Ted.

 

This story is in response to a photo prompt from Madison Woods for her Friday Fictioneers. A big thank you to her for running the show. Read below for more information shamelessly copied from her page.

Madison Woods

Why only 100 Words

100-words isn’t a *rule* and some of us write more than that. My goal is to have The Friday Fictioneers use 100-word stories as an exercise in choosing concise phrases and strong verbs. It’s an excellent way to show your stuff to the world without exposing too much. It’s okay if you use more words, but if it’s much more let us know in the comments so we’ll know how to allocate our time if we’re trying to read all the posts.

Put your best efforts on display for 100 words (more or less) and hop on board Friday with links back to your blog so we can all see what you’ve written. If you don’t have a blog of your own you are welcome to post your 100 words in the (Friday) story page.

Here’s the link to the story page. If you accidentally post your link here on this page today, you’ll miss out on a lot of the blog hopping because the action will be stemming from links on the story page.

How to become a Fictioneer

  1. Write a 100-word story (more or less, and it’s okay if you didn’t use this picture for inspiration)
  2. Post your story to your blog on Friday (or just link to it now if you wrote earlier)
  3. If you’re a WordPress user, include “Friday Fictioneers” as one of your tags so you’ll show up on the tag search. 
  4. Comment on my story Friday and post a link to your story.
  5. Tweet your link to me (@madison_woods) and include the tag #FridayFictioneers if you’re on Twitter.
  6. Visit and comment on all the other stories that link to my story. If the comment forms allow, leave your link on all your comments, so others can find you and us later on.
  7. Check back often because participants post throughout the day.
  8. Get psyched up to do this again next week 🙂

 

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “The Rescue for Friday Fictioneers

  1. Lora Mitchell

    Yay…I’m guessing Mr. Ted is your frightened family cat that you saved. A thank you from a cat lover. I only wonder how you managed to grab Mr. Ted with Lucy hanging on your neck. No matter. It’s a sweet story. Here’s mine:
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  2. I was wondering if Ted was a living pet or a stuffed animal, either way, he is saved.

    Here’s mine: http://thebradleychronicles.wordpress.com/

  3. Adorable! I see Mr. Ted as a teddy bear. This could be a children’s picture book about moving on after a disaster of sorts. The world is at “rights” if we have family, health, and Mr. Ted. 🙂 Nicely done.

    Mine: http://www.vlgregory-circa1800.vpweb.com/blog.html

  4. Madison Woods

    I saw Mr. Ted as a teddy bear being retrieved after a tragedy of some sort, maybe tornado or flood. The ‘eyes flitting’ gave it a nervous edge, as if the person going in to get him was afraid to do so.

    • Thank you for taking the time to comment. I am glad you were able to create a scene in your head as this is often what I want my readers to be able to do. Regards

  5. I enjoyed this. I have occasionally had to rescue my cats from some sort of situation, and I can definitely sympathize with this story! I also like how it is unclear whether there has been a disaster, or the cat simply got in the disorganized basement and was left there accidentally for awhile.

    http://glossarch.wordpress.com/2012/05/05/a-time-for-everything-friday-fictioneers/

    • Thank you for your comments. I try to write in a way that leaves the reader an opportunity to create his own story. Whilst I know that can be a little irritating for some I am pleased that you enjoy that aspect of my writing. Regards.

  6. Hi writelindy! I saw Mr Ted as a stuffed toy, lost in some sort fo disaster, but I love how different readers have seen different things in it. I actually blogged about that the other day, the link is here if you’re interested: (http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/open-to-interpretation/)
    Your story perfectly evokes the nervousness of the adult in returning to a damaged building, and his love for Lucy in going back to rescue her beloved Mr Ted. This balance is not an easy one to strike, but I think you do it well.

Leave a Reply

