The Inspector

fridayfictpromptthehallway

She worked for five hours with a machine which whirred and groaned. She told me the floor was so clean that you could see your face. Then she got hold of a wad of feathers on a stick and ran it over the top of every doorway and into each corner. After that she produced a cloth and some sweet smelling liquid and using her ‘elbow grease’ created a passageway of shiny doors.

Well, what a waste. He slipped coming out of the lift and ended up in an ambulance. Gone to inspect the hospital instead. Full marks to Cynthia.

It has been a while since I have done a flash fiction piece and this one has been done with a little of my tongue in my cheek. The picture reminded me of days in charge of special visits by inspectors and how all of the effort was for a few minutes glory.

#fridayfictioneers via rochelle

Every Wednesday Rothschild Wisoff-Fields posts a picture prompt and writers create a 100-word or so story or poem.  So write your own and then post your work on your blog.  On Friday, go back to her site and post a link to your blog entry in the comments on her Friday Fictioneers post. Looking forward to reading yours. Have fun.

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “The Inspector

  1. Ha!! She did too good a job. I sense a lawsuit coming. 🙂 Good job.

  2. Serves him right! Nice take on the prompt.

  3. galuri85

    awesome 🙂

  4. Lemon-scented pledge on the floor will do it, every time.

  5. Must be called “The Floor of Many Names.” Nice story, good humor, loved it! You and the others might soon be turning me into an Anglophile!

  6. Slick story in the most literal sense, Lindsay.
    You must have copied your instructions from Rich’s blog. My name is a weekly gag, albeit, ever so much fun.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

    • Don’t believe her, Lindsay.

      Rackolamb’s name is different every week and Rochelle is only the latest one she likes. She’ll probably keep it on her blog site just to confuse you. Tricksy woman.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Thanks Doug. I did copy some of your information about the Friday Fictioneers as I haven’t really adjusted myself after the change from Madison. Glad I made her smile (and you of course).

    • Hi Rochelle. I did use Rich’s blog as a guide for my guidelines as I haven’t done many of these Friday shorties recently and had forgotten the form. Hopefully you were able to have a laugh and I didn’t offend you. I will try to get it right next time.

  7. I really liked the voice in this piece.

  8. Cynthia is a perfectionist. She did what she was told.
    She deserved a promotion!

  9. Hehehehehehe!
    So Cynthia will have to do it all over again for the substitute inspector?
    How sad.

    Very nice piece.

  10. I know that pain of going above and beyond and having it backfire. Better tell him to wear skates next time.

  11. i wonder if perhaps he got what he deserved. well done.

  12. Full marks to Cynthia! The inspector is probably pleased while sitting in the ambulance. Any better job and he might have inspected his last!

    Almost makes me want to clean …

  13. HI Lindsay,
    I can so relate to that idea of exhaustively cleaning up and then having some big shot give it no more than a cursory view. I liked what happened to the bigwig in your story even more! Ron

  14. I was trying to think of something related to slipping on the shiny floors, but glad I didn’t as you made such a good job of it. Very well done.

  15. Ha, he can have it, never wear your Allen Edmond’s on a polished floor. Full points to Cynthia 🙂

  16. Yep, keeping the Big Dogs or Suits happy is pretty futile work…never pays well. Nice take on the prompt…

  17. that reminds me of my dad, who once was a janitor at a church after he retired. He waxed and polished the pews and all the little old ladies kept slipping out. A good post and story.

  18. I loved The Inspector! Very good riddance to bad rubbish. i hope they mix up his charts and give him an all day Colonoscopy.

    Nice story. I’m still laughing at the way you ended theis tale.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  19. In response to your added note; I remember when I was working in a Café and we knew the Inspectors were coming in one particular day. We worked our socks off the whole morning scrubbing every little inch of the entire place.

    I’m Really glad that the Inspector slipped! 🙂 Good job Cynthia indeed! 😉

  20. Loved the descriptions of the way the cleaning lady cleaned. I guess the inspector couldn’t bitch about the floor now being clean.

Leave a Reply

