Positivity

IMG_0909

With stories of doom and gloom in the publishing world and little hope for fledgling authors, I am interested in how others remain motivated to write. I was trying to explain to my non-writer friends last night that it is a passion that drives me rather than the anticipation of global success. Of course, we all like to hear the words of encouragement of how great we are but without those would I still write? You bet!

How do you stay motivated to write? I love conversations so please comment.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Positivity

  1. I think I’m like you, as are most of the writer’s I’ve talked to. Having someone enjoy your work is great, but even if no one in the world could read my writing I would still write. I don’t know if it’s a question of motivation or a question of necessity – a writer simply will write.

  2. I talk to others about how I feel, especially some of my friends who are artists. They understand as they have the creative urge to paint, which is similar to writing. I also try to write everyday. I read about what inspired famous writers. I get discouraged at times, but I think it’s a natural result of writing. Your post helps me realize that I need to write everyday, no matter what. If I write every day, I am a writer, not someone who wants to write, but a writer, because I write everyday. I feel a sense of accomplishment if I write every day, even if it’s only a half hour. Keep writing:)

  3. What a lovely post! Whenever I lose motivation, I remind myself of where I want to go, the life I want to live. I want to be more than I am right now, to contribute to the world in a greater way. I know I’ll never have a sense of fulfillment until I carry on with my writing!

  4. I just love writing so I’d do it anyway as I’ve always done. But now having an outlet here makes it even more fun. If anything else comes of it through my efforts then good and well but it’s not essential to the process.

Leave a Reply

