Dragonfly – Friday Fictioneers

Photo Prompt  Erin Leary

Photo Prompt
Erin Leary

Listen my son. Can you hear them? Can you see them?

Lurking. Waiting.

What’s that you say? There’s nothing there. Oh but there is. Little creatures, call them fairies if you wish. See how they swoop above the water, dash between the plants.

One of them is your mother. They took her to be their queen.

Which one do you think? The one with the purple wings. Yes you’re right. She is the most beautiful.

Wave your arms my love. Wave your arms for your little boy.

I am happy to return to weaving stories in one of my favourite forms – short fiction- and am grateful that rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com continues to run the successful Friday Fictioneers. I have been absent for some time, busy with the publication of my novel Silencio and writing my second full length work.

7 Comments

Filed under Flash Fiction, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Dragonfly – Friday Fictioneers

  1. I feel somehow a deep sense of loss here.. the mother dead and maybe coming back as a dragonfly…

  2. That last line is just so… heartbreaking. *sigh*

  3. Such a fairy tale quality to this. Loved it… even if it is sad…

  4. Dear Lindy,

    Of course the most beautiful dragonfly is purple. 😉 Sweet and ethereal. I’m wondering if this is the father’s way of helping the boy through his grief.
    Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  5. My Fantasy inclined mind finds the last line heart breaking. My Science inclined mind as too buy with size differences.

  6. What a beautiful fairytale, perfect to deal with loss. Seeing the one you love all around you in nature, what better memorial could there be?

Leave a Reply

