The Swim – A New Short Story

Water caressed my body, I flipped over and flattened my feet against the tiles. Before I pushed, a voice breached my solitude.

‘Hello.’

For a second, I thought it was a figment of my imagination, a phantom sound created by rushing fluid in my ears, lacking their original ability after the trauma of years attending concerts and discotheques.  I propelled my body against the pressure of the water.

‘Hello.’

A white-haired man wearing a shirt, too short to hide his belly, grasped the gate and leered through the metal bars. My eyesight is not quite what it used to be, worn down by years of reading small print in poor conditions, and the goggles distorted my view but I saw that he was admiring my costume.

‘Are you enjoying it?’

My heart shattered. Years ago, that man had captured it with his flame locks and fine physique. I lowered my gaze and saw the true image of my self and yearned, just for a minute, for those days long gone.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Swim – A New Short Story

  1. aw… such a melancholic nostalgia. beautiful x

Leave a Reply

