Let’s talk about the role of the mother of the bride

When Will I Come Down to Earth?

The countdown has begun and the dress fittings nearly finished. Eleven months have passed since the proposal and the day that the planning began. My daughter and her beau will speak in front of us all and I will clutch my square of soft linen, hoping that I don’t embarrass them with a sob, audible in one of the quiet moments.

Soon it will all be a lovely memory and my feet will touch the ground.

I will be sorry but also admit that I am looking forward to concentrating on book number 2.

Lessons learned are:

  1.  mother of the bride outfits can cost more than the wedding dress
  2.  you can’t convince a man that eyebrows, nails, make-up, hair, etc matter
  3.  hats don’t suit everyone and feathers coming out of one’s head can look ridiculous
  4.   money doesn’t grow on trees
  5.   the heart does swell when your child is happy
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

