Life Events and Writing

As happens in life, it is the unplanned events that can cause mayhem with far-reaching consequences. Writing experts advise us to tap in to life’s emotions and experiences to give our writing depth. What happens when these emotions are too painful?

A few months ago, I was looking forward to the wedding of my beloved daughter. We had negotiated the tricky minefields of which guests to invite, who should sit next to who, the role of the step-parents, etc. In fact, the wedding had been planned in detail and was about to be one of the highlights of my life.

Then, just over a week before the special day, my husband, my daughter’s stepfather, ended up in hospital with a serious illness. We entered a period of days divided between hospital visits and final wedding preparations, an emotional roller-coaster for anyone, and the way I coped was to separate my despair from my joy. Each emotion had its own compartment and had I opened them to write, I risked losing control.

Sadly, my husband was too ill to attend the wedding.

Now, weeks later, with my daughter happily married and my husband recovering, I am ready to search my soul but the shield remains. Perhaps it is there to protect me, but when I am writing a story about maternal love, it would be useful to resurrect some of those emotions I experienced as I made certain that my daughter had the most joyous day of her life.

At times like these, I long for an improved command of the language of poetry. Perhaps verse would allow me the vehicle to express the emotions of my summer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

