Beauty – A Story for the Friday Fictioneers

Photo Prompt ©Roger Bultot

Photo Prompt ©Roger Bultot

Chalk and cheese: one of the girls caught his eye, beckoning him closer. The other disturbed him. She would not last, her beauty was fragile and he saw the poison in her eyes. Blonde and the red hair interlaced, a colourful curtain that joined them as they whispered.  What secrets did they share? He edged nearer and she caught his eye once more. That glance sealed their fate.

He never looked elsewhere and nurtured by his care and love, the beauty within blossomed until she dazzled everyone.

 

When I read out some of my work recently, I realised that sadness and gloom dominates my short writing. This week I have attempted something with a more positive slant and am interested to find out if it works for my readers. If not, I will have to return to my dark side.  

Thank you to Rochelle at http://www.rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com who organises the Friday Fictioneers. Authors write a piece of 100 word fiction, prose or poetry based on a photo prompt and exchange comments on their work.  If you are a writer of short fiction, join us and see where your imagination takes you.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Beauty – A Story for the Friday Fictioneers

  1. Come back to the dark side, Luke

  2. Ros Nazilli

    I do love the gentleness of that.. but I for one cannot stray from my dark side. xx

  3. Nice to have a happy ending once in a while 🙂 although I often find darker tales have more of a lasting impact.

  4. michael1148humphris

    Ringing the changes is worthwhile, I really enjoyed this story, sometimes we need positive outcomes, so times not.

  5. It’s good to experiment with a different genre, and I liked this one as much as your others.

  6. What a pleasant change from all the dark stories I’ve read this week. I thought I was alone in being cheerful! Delightful.

    My story is called Stardust

  7. Dear Lindy,

    Now that’s the kind of relationship to have. I’m sure she nurtured all that was good in him as well. Nicely done

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. I thought it was a beautiful little story and it didn’t bother me a bit that no one was maimed or killed along the way.

  9. I also thought it was a beautiful story, it could so easily have gone dark but that seems like the easy option and I think it’s better this way.

Leave a Reply

