A Mother’s Day Treat – Window to the Womb & Seeing my Grandchild with 4D

Last Saturday, Mother’s Day weekend here in the UK, I was invited to accompany my daughter and her husband to ‘Window to the Womb’ a 4d scan that shows the baby’s features and movement. What an incredible experience that was! The 28+ week baby had his or her legs stretched in front of the face so our first view was obstructed by feet and toes but when he finally appeared, my heart nearly exploded out of my chest.

If you have never seen this type of scan look at it online – the old days of black and white blurred images has disappeared. We decided that the baby had his father’s nose and my daughter’s chin and eyes. In my days as a midwife we were lucky if we saw the shape of the head so I was totally blown away by the experience. We still don’t know whether I will be holding a granddaughter or grandson as they want to wait until it is born to find out. This is a good thing as it prevents me going crazy in the shops.

Mother’s Day holds a special meaning for me now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

