The Twist – 100 words for the Friday Fictioneers

Photo Prompt © magaly guerrero

Lindy in Trouble

 

Every week the hard-working Rochelle at http://www.rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com organises photo prompts and links for the Friday Fictioneers. Authors write a piece of 100 word fiction, prose or poetry based on a photo prompt and exchange comments on each other’s work.  If you are a writer of short fiction, join the group and let your imagination feed us with your stories. 

I can not let this opportunity pass by without poking fun at my current status. My leg disappeared down a drain and I wasn’t wearing heels this time. Previously, they have been a contributing factor in other injuries.

One minute she was at my side, the next she was sprawled on the cobbled pavement.

‘For heaven’s sake Mother!’

‘Sorry.’

‘Get up.’ Passing people glared. They’d understand if she was their responsibility.

‘I can’t.’

I was tempted to walk away, but then sighed as I extended my hand.

‘I told you. But no, you had to wear those bloody shoes.’

‘Sorry.’ Her eyes filled.

I lowered on to one knee and patted her shoulder. ‘Never mind. Let’s dust you off and inspect the damage.’

She did that thing with her mouth and I knew we were heading to another hospital. Again.

 

 

 

23 Comments

Filed under Flash Fiction, Uncategorized

23 responses to “The Twist – 100 words for the Friday Fictioneers

  1. Yoiks! That “again” comment makes me wonder how much trouble Mother really is.

  2. Seems like the role reversal is complete. Maybe thats the twist 🙂

  3. Dear Lindy,

    And the child becomes the parent. There’s a lot more story here than meets the eye. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Oh dear, mum seems to attract accidents. I wonder how old she is.

  5. My Dad had been battling cancer and was very weak. So much so, that he couldn’t get out of a chair and up on his walker without help.

    I’d arrived at my parent’s place the night before for a short visit. The next morning I was in the spare bedroom when I heard a “thump.”

    I walked toward the kitchen and saw my Dad on his side on a kitchen chair. Those chairs have wheels and he had the bright idea to have my Mom wheel him from the hard wood floor of the kitchen to the carpeted floor of the living room.

    Of course a wheel got caught and they both went over.

    It had its humorous aspects, but it took me about ten minutes to get my Dad up to his knees and then upright holding onto his walker.

    He passed away a little over a day ago, but my Dad and Mom shared one last laugh at their falling for each other again.

    • Dear James. Thank you for sharing this memory of your parents with us. It is lovely that you have been able to find the humour in such a sad situation. As an ex-nurse, I believe that it is our capacity to smile when facing unbearable pain that helps us to keep going. Your dad must have been a lovely man to produce a son such as you. My condolences.

  6. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover

    Touching story, as Rochelle said the child is now the parent. That is the sad fact of the circle of life.

  7. Sweet story about a common condition.

  8. I can relate to this. My father’s mother was very short and insisted on wearing the highest heels all the time to compensate, you can guess he spent a fair amount of time at the hospital, they get stuck in drains, cobbles, everything. Thanks for this, I enjoyed it.

  9. Troublesome parent huh? Ha Ha! A fun take on the FF prompt.

  10. Strangely there are very few takes on high heels in this prompt. Great write.

  11. As this is based on some truth, I do hope you are okay!! And that’s how it should be, we take care of our kids and eventually, they take care of us!

  12. I hope I am never such a burden to my child.

Leave a Reply

